Award Winners for Teens

Agatha Award - Best Children's/Young Adult Mystery
Recognizes the best “traditional mystery,” a book that is most similar to the works of Agatha Christie, for children and young adults published in the United States.

Alex Awards 
Presented annually in the U.S. by the Young Adult Library Services Association to authors of 10 adult books that have special appeal to young adults.

ALA Coretta Scott King Award
Recognizes an African American author and illustrator of outstanding books for children and young adults.

ALA Pura Belpré Medal
Recognizes a Latino writer and illustrator whose children’s or young adult books best portray, affirm, and celebrate the Latino cultural experience.

Edgar Award - Best Juvenile Mystery
Recognizes the best in mystery writing for children.

Michael L. Printz Award
Awarded annually by the Young Adult Library Services Association for excellence in young adult literature.

Morris Award
Honors a book published by a first-time author writing for teens and celebrating impressive new voices in young adult literature.

National Book Award - Young People's Literature
Recognizes the best American literature published for young people.

Schneider Family Book Award
A group of awards presented annually in the U.S. to the creators of books for children and teens with an artistic expression of the disability experience.

Stonewall Book Awards
A group of awards presented annually in the U.S for books of "exceptional merit relating to the gay/lesbian/bisexual/transgender experience."

William Allen White Award
A pair of awards presented annually for the best books of the year, as voted by students in the state of Kansas in grades 3-5 and 6-8.

Print this page