Lawrence Public Library

Lawrence Public Library (LPL for short) is a community hub that believes in the power of connecting with each other through shared knowledge and resources. Located in the heart of Downtown Lawrence, Kansas — and on the road with our bookmobile, Dottie — we're committed to providing a space where everyone can learn, connect, create, and grow through access to our vast collections, resources, services, programs, and knowledgeable staff. The library is supported by tax dollars, the LPL Friends & Foundation's record-breaking book sales and philanthropic efforts, and dedicated efforts of more than 300 volunteers.

Hours & Information

Closed until 10:00am tomorrow

Monday 
10:00AM - 8:00PM

Tuesday 
10:00AM - 8:00PM

Wednesday 
10:00AM - 8:00PM

Thursday 
10:00AM - 8:00PM

Friday 
10:00AM - 6:00PM

Saturday 
10:00AM - 6:00PM

Sunday 
10:00AM - 6:00PM

707 Vermont Street
Lawrence, KS 66044

Holidays and Closures

  • Easter
    Sunday, March 31, 2024
    Closed All Day
  • Memorial Day
    Sunday, May 26, 2024 - Monday, May 27, 2024
    Closed All Day
  • Juneteenth
    Wednesday, June 19, 2024
    Closed All Day
  • Independence Day
    Thursday, July 4, 2024
    Closed All Day
  • Labor Day
    Sunday, September 1, 2024 - Monday, September 2, 2024
    Closed All Day
  • Staff Day
    Thursday, November 7, 2024
    Closed All Day
  • Veteran's Day
    Monday, November 11, 2024
    Special hours: 10:00am - 8:00pm
  • Thanksgiving
    Thursday, November 28, 2024 - Friday, November 29, 2024
    Closed All Day
  • Christmas Eve and Christmas Day
    Tuesday, December 24, 2024 - Wednesday, December 25, 2024
    Closed All Day
  • New Years Day
    Wednesday, January 1, 2025
    Closed All Day

Map

Accessibility

Get info here, opens a new window to help plan your visit to the library. Please call or chat live, opens a new window with us if you encounter something that needs attention.

Upcoming Events

New at Lawrence Public Library

Back to Top